PDA

View Full Version : Using High Growth Stock section

Mike
07-14-2015, 04:42 PM
Earlier today one of the High Growth Stocks members asked me a question pertaining to how to use the service. I replied in private but provide here the gist of what I wrote.

There are two different sets of watch lists on the site. The arrows in the image below points to the two places on the EV site. Shown is the High Growth List.

The Long Watchlist is produced each weekend and represents my best attempt to identify stocks with great fundamentals that are near a possible buy point. This list is exactly what I use in my trading. The search for great fundamentals is done in order to find candidates that may have the “gas in the tank” for a medium to long term advance. I am a longer term trader than Pascal and longer advances fit my preferences. The list shows the identified possible buy price and the basis for the buy price such as “Cup with Handle, sloping pivot line”. The first item on the list looks like this on a daily chart.

Note that AGN shows a cup with handle pattern and the orange sloping line is the sloping pivot line identified in the comment section of the watch list. Note that yesterday AGN broke out of the pattern meaning it offered a place to buy the stock because it moved up above the pivot line. Normally with CANSLIM type of investing that we usually want the breakout to be accompanied by a significantly above average volume. AGN only had 4% above average volume so possibly AGN would have been passed up. It appears to be working anyway. The listed buy points identify lower risk entry points of a type that historically have shown an advantage based on the price and volume patterns of the prior consolidation. The book “How to Make Money in Stocks” by William J O’Neil is a good reference for understanding these patterns and High Growth (CANSLIM) investing.