PDA

View Full Version : Precious Metal stocks suck but the EV PascalA list has many as high rated...why?

engr_358
02-20-2013, 04:20 PM
As a newbie I am trying to look at and understand the PascalA stock rankings but I can't figure out why it has several PM stocks at high rankings while the Gold and Silver markets and stocks are falling off a cliff! Luckily, I did not pick up any stocks or ETFs in this space or I would have taken a big hit in the portfolio...

IMHO, no matter how good one's analysis of a stock is (including using EV), single stock risk factors remain unsettlingly high for most individual investors. I have come to the conclusion that ETFs should form the base of most portfolios with individual stocks being in the minority.

adam ali
02-20-2013, 05:28 PM
I like 'em here...

Pascal
02-21-2013, 03:43 AM
As a newbie I am trying to look at and understand the PascalA stock rankings but I can't figure out why it has several PM stocks at high rankings while the Gold and Silver markets and stocks are falling off a cliff! Luckily, I did not pick up any stocks or ETFs in this space or I would have taken a big hit in the portfolio...

IMHO, no matter how good one's analysis of a stock is (including using EV), single stock risk factors remain unsettlingly high for most individual investors. I have come to the conclusion that ETFs should form the base of most portfolios with individual stocks being in the minority.

It is because of how the ranking is built: if a stock is pulling back to its Lower Boundary while under accumulation, then it is a good buy candidate, but only when the market is on a buy signal. This is still the case today.

However, when a stock breaks its Lower Boundary, then its rating is getting much worse and you can see today that most of the gold/silver miners are deeper in the list, because of the LB being broken.