PDA

View Full Version : GDX Model - using Bollinger Percent B for forecasting trend changes

canucck
12-14-2012, 09:06 PM
Hi everyone,

I traded messages with Pascal and hopefully I have posted this to the correct spot (if not, please move it).

Anyway, I believe that you may be able to forecast changes in GDX price (or other instruments) by using Percent B. I have put together a doc that explains Pct B, and the trendline approach.

I am not an expert, but these trendlines seem to be good references, so I would welcome your feedback. As noted in the doc, if there is interest, I could update these weekly, or at some recurring timeframe.

Regards,

Mike M

davidallison@gmail.com
12-15-2012, 10:05 AM
Hi Mike, Thank you for sharing this. I plan on reviewing it over the weekend and will have some questions. I'm long GDX at this point. Are you long GDX or a similar product like HGU.TO right now? Anyway thank you again for sharing. Great Work. Dave

canucck
12-15-2012, 11:37 AM
Hi, no, I am not long GDX. I mentioned in the notes that I had thought about getting some on the day it popped, but was distracted with other things.

Right now, all those moving averages that I mentioned have flat-lined, so it is likely a new trend might start this coming week. If you get a %B move of over 0.24 ("little Kahuna"), or better yet 0.40 ("big Kahuna"), then the new direction should be clear quickly. For info on Kahunas, see this URL, http://www.highgrowthstock.com/learningcenter/Glossary.htm

Pascal
12-15-2012, 04:44 PM
This is excellent work and a very good idea to post regular updates.
I really enjoy reading analyzes that are based on different methods.

Pascal

Hi, no, I am not long GDX. I mentioned in the notes that I had thought about getting some on the day it popped, but was distracted with other things.