PDA

View Full Version : EV Trading Rules

pdp-brugge
11-21-2011, 01:02 AM
I’m a novice user of this website.
By experience I know for myself that I need very restrictive rules for my trading.
I'm studying the different EV data in order to establish a set of rules for myself.
When finished I would like to publish these rules on this forum so that I get the necessary feedback to further improve my trading rules.

In the daily repository file “PascalA_list.xls” there is a page called “Sectors”.
The “How_to_EV.pdf”, that I have found in this forum, writes “that back-tests have shown that it pays to buy sectors with "Aver Tot EV" < 50% combined with a strong 2D Thrust. A low Aver Tot EV indicates that the sector has been under selling pressure, while the 2D thrust probably indicates that short players are covering.”

My question is now if the opposite is also true?
Is it safe to say that to go short on certain stocks, the sector must preferably have a “Strength Aver Tot EV” > 50% combined with a weak (negative) 2D Thrust?

pdp-brugge
11-21-2011, 06:27 AM
I would like to ask a second question in this same topic:

The sectors are sorted following a kind of rating.
I believe that this sector rating is used as a parameter in the stock rating.
Stocks with a rating above 80 are used for going long and stocks with a rating below 20 are used to enter short trades.

What is the formula behind the sector rating?
I think a combination of the AB value of the sector and the Extension Tot EV of the sector but I’m not sure?
Does anyone one know how the sectors are sorted?

pdp-brugge
11-21-2011, 11:17 AM
Still continuing my study I have yet another question:

In the EV Database is a page (http://www.effectivevolume.com/content.php?144-nasdaq-100 ) with a figure that displays the Large Players 20-Day Strength in terms of Money Flow.
This figure clearly shows that the current value is below 0% and below its 10 day Average.

Where can I find the exact numbers of these 2 values?

Pascal